Bulldogs bag Filoil crown

National University survived a sturdy La Salle defense and unleashed a strong finishing kick in endgame to snatch the 2012 FilOil Flying V Pre Season Hanes Cup via a 64-54 victory over the Green Archers.
The Bulldogs drew another explosive game from Bobby Ray Parks who topscored with 19 points and was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.  Emmanuel Mbe also provided NU with 13 markers and 15 boards, while Gelo Alolino added 10 points for the first-time champions in this tournament.

The Green Archers engaged the Bulldogs in a see-saw battle with a strong defensive stance in the first three quarters, and even led 26-18 at one point before NU scored 10 unanswered points to establish a slim 28-26 edge at halftime. By the end of the third, it was 44-41 for the Sampaloc-based squad.  But even with Parks resting on the bench, the Bulldogs caught fire at the start of the fourth canto with back-to-back treys by Kyle Neypes and Mbe to post a nine-point lead.

The Archers managed to cut the deficit to five with still 1:28 remaining off a jumper by Almond Vosotros.  But the Bulldogs answered back with a 7-2 run to seal the win.

LA Revilla and Norbert Torres had 14 and 13 points respectively for DLSU, which beat NCAA heavyweights San Sebastian and San Beda to get to the finals.

NU finished the tournament with a perfect 11-0 record and gained a ton of confidence heading into the UAAP wars next month.

Earlier, the Ateneo Blue Eagles got back at the San Beda Red Lions, 66-55, to win third place honors.
Parks, Mbe, Torres, and Ateneo’s Greg Slaughter and Kiefer Ravena were chosen for the Mythical Five.

In juniors action, the San Beda Red Cubs clawed back from a 17-point third quarter deficit to pull the rug from under the Letran Squires, 79-77, and cop their third straight FilOil Cup title.

Arvin Tolentino erupted for 23 points and 10 rebounds, while Raj Tongco added 19 markers and 3 steals for the Cubs.  Last year’s NCAA Juniors MVP Rey Nambatac led Letran with 23 points.
San Beda’s Javee Mocon was named MVP of the tournament.  The NU Bullpups placed third after walloping the Xavier Stallions, 72-60.


NU (64) – Parks 19, Mbe 13, Alolino 10, Villamor 8, Javillonar 5, Neypes 5, De Guzman 2, Betayene 2.

DLSU (54) – Revilla 14, Torres 13, Andrada 8, Vosotros 5, Teng 4, Webb 4, Tallo 2, Mendoza 2, Gotladera 2.
Scoring by Quarter:  15-16, 28-26, 44-41, 64-54


Get stories like this on the Yahoo app and discover more every day.
Download it now.