If you’ll recall, the U.S. Open was nearly marred by a rules controversy.
Eventual winner Dustin Johnson had his final round and championship put into limbo when his ball moved on the fifth green at Oakmont Country Club. After the walking rules official declared Johnson didn’t cause the ball to move, USGA officials kept looking at the footage. As Johnson was making his back-nine run toward his first major, the USGA informed Johnson that he might — might — be penalized for the ball moving.
Johnson played on, winning the title anyhow, even with the post-round protestations of the USGA that they would award the in-limbo penalty stroke. Widely panned for how they handled the situation, the USGA acknowledged the fault but blamed the language of the Rules of Golf that left them in what they felt was an almost impossible situation to ignore.
Now, the USGA andRead More »from USGA, R&A create local rule in wake of Dustin Johnson's U.S. Open issues